Poetry Resources

Carla Drysdale suggests these links for students and teachers of poetry.

https://poetrysociety.org
https://www.poetryfoundation.org

Poets to study

The below are some of my favourites. Begin here and read widely.

Rainer Maria Rilke https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/rainer-maria-rilke
Rumi https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/jalal-al-din-rumi
Naomi Shihab Nye https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/naomi-shihab-nye
Marie Howe https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/marie-howe
Molly Peacock https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/molly-peacock
Stanley Kunitz https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/stanley-kunitz
Ross Gay https://www.rossgay.net/about
Carol Ann Duffy https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/carol-ann-duffy

If you only read one book about how to write poetry (and live a life of poetry), read Mary Oliver’s A Poetry Handbook.